Find research resources for physical therapy including books, journals, and databases available at Stimson Library, resources for evidence-based practice, mobile tools, and links to freely available scholarly and professional information online.
CanChild Centre for Childhood Disability Research is a research and educational centre located at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Our research is focused on improving the lives of children and youth with disabilities and their families.
The CIRRIE Database collects citations from all areas of rehabilitation and compiles them into one central source. In addition to indexing from mainstream journals and internet sites, CIRRIE also includes citations to resources not readily available to U.S. researchers. Over 5000 journals are represented in the Database and abstracts are available for most citations. A list of journals is now available. There are over 145,000 citations currently indexed with citations added monthly. The database includes citations from 1990 to the present.
CATs are brief summaries of a search and critical appraisal of literature related to a focused clinical question. The CATs at this site were prepared by graduate students in the School of Rehabilitation Therapy as a major assignment in their Evidence-Based Practice course. The aims of this collection of CATs are to illustrate a strategy for honing the skills required by evidence based rehabilitation therapists; and to communicate “clinical bottom lines” related to clinical questions and scenarios relevant to Occupational and Physical Therapy practice.
Under the Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5-year contracts are awarded to institutions in the United States and Canada to serve as EPCs. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics to produce various types of evidence reports. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas. The EPCs also conduct research on methodology of evidence synthesis.
A database of web-based evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (EBCPGs) from recent scientific publications. This database is a teaching and reference tool that will allow students and rehabilitation specialists to make informed decisions in choosing an effective intervention for their client. The quality of all the EBCPGs available in the database has been evaluated through the validated assessment tool, AGREE: “Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation” (www.agreecollaboration.org).
OTDBASE, a Canadian-based and Canadian-developed occupational therapy journal literature search service, is an internet-based indexing and abstracting service that contains over 8000 abstracts from over 20 national and international occupational therapy journals dated from 1970 to the present.
OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration.
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
Physiotherapy Choices, an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP), is a database designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services, including patients, their friends and families, health service managers, and insurers. The database provides a catalogue of the best research evidence of the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions. Three sorts of research evidence are catalogued: clinical trials (individual research studies of the effects of physiotherapy); reviews (scientific compilations of the evidence from randomised controlled trials); and guidelines (recommendations regarding physiotherapy, based wherever possible on randomised trials and systematic reviews).
Rehab+ provides searchable database of the best evidence from the health care literature, an email alerting system, and links to evidence-based resources. All citations (from over 110 premier clinical journals) are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing occupational and physical therapists.
RehabData, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.