Stimson Library LibGuides: LibGuides: Captains Career Course

Library Megasearch

SEARCH ALL LIBRARY RESOURCES

Writing & Citing

Writing and Citing Subject Guide
Head to this subject guide for writing and style manuals, plagiarism, and citation help!

Recommended Databases

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
more... less...

1987 to present
This index is also available in the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) database.

Wars

On the shelf:

Books on the American Revolution are found under the call numbers:

E 201 - E298

March to Victory by Robert Selig; Center of Military History Staff
Call Number: E 230 S465m 2005
Bunker Hill by Nathaniel Philbrick
Call Number: E 241 B9 P545b 2013

ISBN: 9780670025442
A Devil of a Whipping by Lawrence E. Babits
Call Number: E 241 C9 B114d 1998
The Minute Men by John R. Galvin
Call Number: E 255 G182m 1989

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the War of 1812 are found under the call numbers:

E 351 - E 364.9

Amateurs, to Arms! by John R. Elting
Call Number: E 355 E51a 1991
The Darkest Day by Charles Geoffrey Muller
Call Number: E 355.6 M958d 2003
The Encyclopedia of the War of 1812 by Spencer Tucker; James R. Arnold; Roberta Wiener; Paul G. Pierpaoli; John C. Fredriksen
Call Number: R E 354 E56 2012
The Incredible War of 1812 by J. Mackay Hitsman; Donald E. Graves
Call Number: E 355 H675i 1999
The War of 1812: A Forgotten Conflict by Donald R. Hickey
Call Number: E 354 H628w 1989

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the Civil War are found under the call numbers:

E 461 - E655

The Chancellorsville Campaign, January-May 1863 by Center of Military History (U.S. Army) Staff; Bradford A. Wineman
Call Number: E 475.51 R288g 2013
Civil War Almanac by John C. Fredriksen
Call Number: E 468 F852c 2007
The Civil War Begins by Jennifer M. Murray; Center of Military History (U.S. Army) Staff
Call Number: E 468 M982c 2012
The Civil War Dictionary by Mark M. Boatner
Call Number: R E 468 B662c 1959
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by David S. Heidler; Jeanne T. Heidler; David J. Coles; Gary W. Gallagher; James M. McPherson; Mark E. Neeley
Call Number: R E 468 E56 2000
A Little Short of Boats by James Morgan
Call Number: E 472.63 M848L 2011
Shiloh 1862 by Winston Groom
Call Number: E 473.54 G876s 2012

ISBN: 9781426208744

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on World War I are found under the call numbers:

D 501 - D 680

America's Deadliest Battle: Meuse-Argonne by Robert H. Ferrell
Call Number: D 545 A63 F383a 2007
Biographical Dictionary of World War I by Holger H. Herwig; Neil M. Heyman
Call Number: R D 507 H581b 1982
Gallipoli by Alan Moorehead; Neville Kirk
Call Number: D 568.3 M825g 1982
Three Armies on the Somme by William Philpott
Call Number: D 545 S7 P571t 2011
United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919 by United States. Department of the Army. Office of Military History.
Call Number: D 570 A4 U58u 1948
Verdun by Paul Jankowski
Call Number: D 545 V3 J33v 2013

Recommended Websites

Battles (First World War.com)
The Great War: 1914-1918
Military Resources: World War I (National Archives)
U.S. Army in the World War, 1917-1919 (U.S. Army Center of Military History)
World War I (Best of History Websites)
more... less...

Best of History Web Sites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories and has been designed to benefit history teachers and their students; however, general history enthusiasts will benefit from the site as well. Ranked #1 by Google for history web sites, Best of History Web Sites receives upwards of 140,000 visitors per month.
World War I (U.S. Army Center on Military History)
World War I Student Paper Collection (Maneuver Center of Excellence Libraries)
The World War I Document Archive

On the shelf:

Books on World War I are found under the call numbers:

D 731 - D 838

Bastogne by S. L. A. Marshall; John G. Westover; A. Joseph Webber
Call Number: D 756.5 A7 M369b 2010
D-Day by Stephen E. Ambrose
Call Number: D 756.5 N6 A496d 1994
Generals of the Ardennes by J. D. Morelock; Martin Blumenson
Call Number: D 756.5 A7 M67g 2003
The North African Air Campaign by Christopher M. Rein
Call Number: D 766.82 R364n 2012
The Oxford Companion to World War II by I. C. Dear; M. R. Foot
Call Number: R D 740 o98 1995
Stalingrad by Antony Beevor; Artemis Cooper
Call Number: D 764.3 S7 B415s 1999
United States Army in World War II (series)
Call Number: See individual titles in series
United States Army in World War II. Reader's Guide. by Richard Adamczyk; Morris J. MacGregor
Call Number: R D 769 A191u 1992

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the Vietnam War are found under the call numbers:

DS 531 - DS 560.72

Battle for Hue by Keith W. Nolan
Call Number: DS 557.8 H83 N788b 1983
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Spencer C. Tucker
Call Number: R DS 557.7 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: R DS 557.7 E56 1996
Hamburger Hill by Samuel Zaffiri
Call Number: DS 557.8 A54 Z17h 1988
Heroes of Our Time by Kenneth N. Jordan
Call Number: R DS 557.5 J82h 1994

ISBN: 9780887407413
The Last Battle by Ralph Wetterhahn
Call Number: E 865 W542L 2001
United States Army in Vietnam (series)
Call Number: See individual titles in series
We Were Soldiers Once... and Young by Harold G. Moore; Joseph L. Galloway
Call Number: DS 557.8 i18 M822w 1992

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the Korean War are found under the call numbers:

DS 916 - DS 921.7

The Darkest Summer by Bill Sloan
Call Number: DS 918.2 P87 S634d 2009
East of Chosin by Roy E. Appleman
Call Number: DS 918.2 C35 A648e 1987
Heartbreak Ridge by Arned L. Hinshaw
Call Number: DS 918.2 H665h 1989
Historical Dictionary of the Korean War by James I. Matray
Call Number: R DS 918 H673 1991
The Korean War by Stanley Sandler
Call Number: R DS 918 K85 1995
Korean War Almanac by Harry G. Summers
Call Number: R DS 918 S955k 1990
On Hallowed Ground by Bill McWilliams
Call Number: DS 919 M177o 2004
United states Army in the Korean War (series)
Call Number: See individual titles in series

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the Gulf War are found under the call numbers:

DS 79.7

Crusade: The Untold Story of the Perian Gulf War by Rick Atkinson
Call Number: DS 79.724 U6 A877c 1993
Desert Shield to Desert Storm by Dilip Hiro
Call Number: DS 79.72 H668d 1992

ISBN: 9780415906562
Desert Storm by Michael J. Mazarr; Don M. Snider; James A. Blackwell
Call Number: DS 79.72 M475d 1993
Desert Victory by Norman Friedman
Call Number: DS 79.72 F911d 1991

ISBN: 9781557502544
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War by Mark Grossman
Call Number: R DS 79.72 G878e 1995
Historical Dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991 by Clayton R. Newell
Call Number: R DS 79.72 N544h 1998
The Persian Gulf War Almanac by Harry G. Summers
Call Number: R DS 79.72 S955p 1995
War in the Persian Gulf by Richard W. Stewart
Call Number: DS 79.724 U6 S851w 2010
Whirlwind War by Frank N. Schubert; Theresa L. Kraus
Call Number: DS 79.724 U6 W575 1995

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the Iraq War are found under the call numbers:

DS 79.72 - DS 79.766

All Roads Lead to Baghdad by Charles H. Briscoe; Kenneth Finlayson; Robert W. Jones; Army Special Operations Command History Office Staff
Call Number: DS 79.76 B859a
The Endgame by Michael R. Gordon; Bernard E. Trainor
Call Number: DS 79.76 G664e 2012

Shelved on US Army Chief of Staff's Professional Reading List Shelf
Fighting for Fallujah by John R. Ballard
Call Number: DS 79.76 B189f 2006
No True Glory by Bing West
Call Number: DS 79.766 F3 W516n 2006

ISBN: 9780553383195
The Tip of the Spear by Jon T. Hoffman; Center of Military History (U.S. Army) Staff
Call Number: DS 79.764 U6 T595 2009
New Dawn by Richard Lowry
Call Number: DS 79.764 F35 L921n 2011

Recommended Websites

On the shelf:

Books on the Afghanistan War are found under the call numbers:

DS 371.3

In the Graveyard of Empires by Seth G. Jones
Call Number: DS 371.412 J79i 2009
Living with Honor by Salvatore A. Giunta; Joe Layden
Call Number: DS 371.4123 K67 G538L 2012
Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell; Patrick Robinson
Call Number: DS 371.413 L974L 2007
Not a Good Day to Die by Sean Naylor
Call Number: DS 371.4123 o64 N333n 2005
The Only Thing Worth Dying For by Eric Blehm
Call Number: DS 371.412 B646o 2010
Roberts Ridge by Malcolm MacPherson
Call Number: DS 371.4123 T35 M172r 2006

Recommended Websites

General Resources for Historical Research

Bibliographies
Reference Books

International Encyclopedia of Military History by James C. Bradford
Call Number: R D 25 A2 i61 2006
Magill's Guide to Military History by John Powell; Christian J. Moose; Rowena Wildin
Call Number: R D 25 A2 M194 2001
Who Was Who in American History-the Military by Marquis-Who's Who, inc Staff
Call Number: R U 52 W628 1975
Dictionary of American Military Biography by Roger J. Spiller; Joseph G. Dawson; Harry T. Williams
Call Number: R U 52 D554 1984

Stimson Library

LibGuides: Captains Career Course

Books

Library Megasearch

Writing & Citing

Recommended Databases

Wars

General Resources for Historical Research

Military Maps