Stimson Library
Stimson Library
Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by
The number one book in pediatric OT is back! Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. Coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in-step with the latest advances in the field. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book! Full-color, contemporary design throughout text includes high-quality photos and illustrations. Case-based video clips on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you learn to interpret evidence and strengthen clinical decision-making skills. Coverage of OT for children from infancy through adolescence includes the latest research, techniques and trends. Case studies help you apply concepts to actual situations you may encounter in practice. Learning objectives indicate what you will be learning in each chapter and serve as checkpoints when studying for examinations. A glossary makes it easy for you to look up key terms. NEW! Eight completely new chapters cover Theory and Practice Models for Occupational Therapy With Children, Development of Occupations and Skills From Infancy Through Adolescence, Therapeutic Use of Self, Observational Assessment and Activity Analysis, Evaluation Interpretation, and Goal Writing, Documenting Outcomes, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and Vision Impairment. NEW! A focus on theory and principles Practice Models promote clinical reasoning. NEW! Emphasis on application of theory and frames of reference in practice appear throughout chapters in book. NEW! Developmental milestone tables serve as quick reference guides. NEW! Online materials included to help facilitate your understanding of what's covered in the text. NEW! Textbook is organized into six sections to fully describe the occupational therapy process and follow OTPF.
Conditions in Occupational Therapy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! ​The only text covering the pathophysiology of common diseases specifically relative to Occupational Therapy practice, Conditions in Occupational Therapy: Effect on Occupational Performance, 6th Edition, combines the most up-to-date insights and an engaging approach to ready students for success from the classroom to clinical settings. This updated 6th Edition is fully aligned with the most current DSM-5 and Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 4th Edition, and adds new chapters reflecting recent advances in the management of infectious diseases, general deconditioning, musculoskeletal pain, amputations, and sickle cell anemia. Each chapter follows a consistent format, presenting an opening case followed by descriptions and definitions, etiology, incidence and prevalence, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, course and prognosis, medical/surgical management, impact on occupational performance, and two case illustrations. Rounded out with robust instructor resources and new full-color imagery, this bestselling resource is an essential tool for today's occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students. NEW! Five new chapters detail current practices in the management of: Infectious Diseases General Deconditioning Musculoskeletal Pain (back, neck, upper and lower extremity) Amputations Sickle Cell Anemia NEW! Full-color images clarify concepts and procedures in vibrant detail. Updated content and references reflect the latest insights on the neurological basis for disorders, brain/behavior relationships for psychiatric disorders, and a consistent list of client factors affected by disorder. Integrated pathophysiology and occupational therapy coverage ensure a comprehensive understanding without the need for multiple texts. An intuitive organization groups disorders logically for fast, efficient reference. Chapter-ending Case Studies help you apply content to real-life clinical situations, including both pediatric and adult cases where relevant. Introductory Cases immerse you in chapter content for greater retention and understanding. In-text learning aids, including key terms, study questions, recommended learning resources, and special boxes, tables, and displays, help reinforce key concepts.
Cooper's Fundamentals of Hand Therapy by
Written for hand therapy specialists and non-specialists, Cooper's Fundamentals of Hand Therapy, 3rd Edition emphasizes treatment fundamentals, and provides tips and guidelines for hand therapy practice. This easy-to-use illustrated text and reference guide helps further develop your clinical reasoning skills by describing what goes into the evaluation process, highlighting the humanistic side of each encounter through case studies, and providing the wisdom the contributing authors have acquired through years of practice. This new edition also features additional chapters on the use of common physical agents and orthoses, plus added content on how to integrate evidence-based findings into daily hand practice. UPDATED! Chapter covering Orthoses Essential Concepts reflects the latest information in the field. Case studies with questions and resolutions help you develop strong clinical reasoning skills while presenting the human side of each client encounter. Special features sections such as Questions to Discuss with the Physician, What to Say to Clients, Tips from the Field, and more help you find your own clinical voice. Anatomy sections throughout text highlight important anatomical bases of dysfunctions, injuries, or disorders. Clinical Pearls highlight relevant information from an experienced author and contributors that you can apply to clinical practice in the future. Evaluation Techniques and Tips help you master appropriate and thorough clinical evaluation of clients. Diagnosis-specific information in the final section of the book is well-organized to give you quick access to the information you need. NEW! Chapter covering Physical Agent Modalities helps you understand how to use common hand therapy tools. NEW! Evidence-Based Practice content outlines how to closely examine evidence and integrate it into daily hand therapy practice. NEW! Photos and illustrations throughout provide clear examples of tools, techniques, and therapies.
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by
While evidence-based practice (EBP) has greatly influenced rehabilitation in the past decade, it continues to evolve and practitioners need guidance to implement evidence into their practice. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, the best-selling text providing step-by-step EBP guidance for rehabilitation professionals, has been updated into an expanded Third Edition. In Evidence-Based Rehabilitation, Third Edition Drs. Mary Law and Joy MacDermid, along with their contributors, explain evidence-based rehabilitation, the concepts underlying EBP, and build the reader's knowledge and skills through specific learning. The text is organised by the steps of the EBP process-introduction to EBP, finding the evidence, assessing the evidence, and using the evidence. EBP focuses first and foremost on making the best decisions for each client and using the best information available. For many rehabilitation practitioners, building skills in EBP is best done one step at a time. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation helps the rehabilitation student and practitioner develop his or her knowledge and skills to implement evidence-based rehabilitation in practice. Benefits of the Third Edition: All chapters have been updated with new information and resources New chapters about systematic reviews, and knowledge transfer Extensive guide available with specific student activities and answers for faculty use Critical review forms included for student use-these forms have been used by practitioners and researchers around the world for 10 to 20 years Recognition throughout the book that EBP in rehabilitation means bringing together research evidence, clinical reasoning of the therapist and client values and goals Fits the standard 3-unit course design with 11 to 12 sessions Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Designed and written by an occupational therapist and a physical therapist with extensive research, education, and practice experience, Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, Third Edition will guide both occupational therapy and physical therapy students and practitioners as they incorporate evidence-based practice into their work.
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by
Designed to help students become effective, reflective practitioners, this fully updated edition of the most widely used occupational therapy text for the course continues to emphasize the "whys" as well as the "how-tos" of holistic assessment and treatment. Now in striking full color and co-edited by renowned educators and authors Diane Powers Dirette and Sharon Gutman, Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction, Eighth Edition features expert coverage of the latest assessment techniques and most recent trends in clinical practice. In addition, the book now explicitly integrates "Frames of Reference" to help students connect theories to practice and features a new six-part organization, thirteen all-new chapters, new pedagogy, and more. NEW! An expert new co-editor team brings a breadth of experience to this edition. NEW! A Frames of Reference section shows students how to connect the concepts to actual practice. NEW! Five new chapters in Sections 1, 2, and 3 cover Documentation of Occupational Therapy Services (Chapter 6), Visual Perceptual Assessment and Intervention (Chapter 9), Communication Assessment and Intervention (18), Cranial Nerve Assessment (20), and Assistive Technology (Chapter 26). NEW! Eight new chapters in Sections 4, 5, and 6 cover Biomechanical, Rehabilitation: Motor Learning and Task-Oriented Approach; Functional Uses of Neurological Approaches; Diabetes; Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias; Chronic Pain and Fibromyalgia; Sleep Disorders Secondary to Orthopedic and Neurological Disorders; and Psychosocial Adaptation to Disability. NEW! Major updates to the coverage of Rehabilitation Technology prepare students for practice in today's rapidly changing environment. NEW! Online videos are now referred to at relevant areas of the text to further reinforce concepts and bring techniques to life. Case Examples describe both the OT process and the clinical reasoning behind the interventions. Evidence tables summarize research studies to equip students with the best evidence for the effectiveness of the interventions. Assessment tables highlight the psychometric properties and the strengths and weaknesses of individual assessment methods.
Physical Agent Modalities by
The popular occupational therapy textbook Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist has been newly updated and revised into a comprehensive Third Edition. Using current occupational therapy terminology and philosophy, this text establishes the theoretical basis and clinical reasoning for the use of physical agent modalities in practice. The biophysiological effects of the modalities are identified and discussed alongside their impact on function and performance. Relevant to both students and practitioners, the Third Edition educates on the proper, safe, and judicious use of physical agent modalities while treating clients. Written by Dr. Alfred G. Bracciano, this book outlines the application procedures for each modality, indications for their use, and the precautions and contraindications of the modality. New to the Third Edition: - Organizational boxed asides and tables related to each concept area -Evidence-based research boxes and tables related to clinical reasoning case studies -New chapters on physiological impact of interventions, soft tissue techniques, and health care reform -Global perspective providing a resource for the international therapist -New color flow charts and improved graphics Each chapter contains: -Learning objectives -Key terms -Case studies Instructors in educational settings can also visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional instructional resources. With up-to-date information and new chapters, Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist, Third Edition provides a user-friendly, organized reference ready to be applied in the clinical setting.
Therapeutic Exercise by
The premier text for therapeutic exercise Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Immersive Cases Online--NEW! Six multimedia clinical scenarios let you practice applying theory to clinical practice. Full-color, narrated videos demonstrate multiple options for exercise progressions and help hone your critical-thinking skills by addressing the challenges of specific pathologies, patient loading, and post-intervention strategies. Video Library Online Full-color videos show you how. A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization,resistance, and spinal stabilization. See what students and practitioners are saying online about previous editions... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F.S. Good buy."Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa S.
Willard and Spackman's Occupational Therapy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners. Packed with first-person narratives that offer a unique perspective on the lives of those living with disease, this edition offers much that is new as it continues to help students and clinicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to apply a client-centered, evidence-based and culturally relevant approach across the full spectrum of practice settings. NEW! Each Unit is now reflective of the nomenclature for the new domains and processes covered in AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd Edition. NEW! "Centennial Notes" sections showcase perspectives from the history of OT, providing inspiring context to students entering the profession. NEW! A stronger global focus, which reflects more the professional as a global entity, prepares students to work effectively in today's global environment NEW! Coverage of the latest considerations in the field prepares students to work with the full range of clients, including veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless, and individuals who identify as LGBTQI. COMPREHENSIVE: The 13th Edition is the only text in the field to cover the full breadth and scope of occupational therapy, summarizing important and complex material in a completely accessible way. INTEGRATED: Integrated coverage of evaluation and intervention processes gives students a holistic overview of the field. PRACTICE-ORIENTED: Case Studie s serve as models for problem-solving in dealing with clients, practice issues, and managing OT services and staff. INVITING: A striking full-color design filled with photos and illustrations welcomes today's students into this classic text. STUDENT-FRIENDLY : In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines. Learning Objectives, and Practice Dilemmas, help students master the material and prepare them for the current realities of OT practice. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by
While evidence-based practice (EBP) has greatly influenced rehabilitation in the past decade, it continues to evolve and practitioners need guidance to implement evidence into their practice. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, the best-selling text providing step-by-step EBP guidance for rehabilitation professionals, has been updated into an expanded Third Edition. In Evidence-Based Rehabilitation, Third Edition Drs. Mary Law and Joy MacDermid, along with their contributors, explain evidence-based rehabilitation, the concepts underlying EBP, and build the reader's knowledge and skills through specific learning. The text is organised by the steps of the EBP process-introduction to EBP, finding the evidence, assessing the evidence, and using the evidence. EBP focuses first and foremost on making the best decisions for each client and using the best information available. For many rehabilitation practitioners, building skills in EBP is best done one step at a time. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation helps the rehabilitation student and practitioner develop his or her knowledge and skills to implement evidence-based rehabilitation in practice. Benefits of the Third Edition: All chapters have been updated with new information and resources New chapters about systematic reviews, and knowledge transfer Extensive guide available with specific student activities and answers for faculty use Critical review forms included for student use-these forms have been used by practitioners and researchers around the world for 10 to 20 years Recognition throughout the book that EBP in rehabilitation means bringing together research evidence, clinical reasoning of the therapist and client values and goals Fits the standard 3-unit course design with 11 to 12 sessions Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Designed and written by an occupational therapist and a physical therapist with extensive research, education, and practice experience, Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, Third Edition will guide both occupational therapy and physical therapy students and practitioners as they incorporate evidence-based practice into their work.
Fundamentals of Hand Therapy : Clinical Reasoning and Treatment Guidelines for Common Diagnoses of the Upper Extremity by
Perfect for hand therapy specialists, hand therapy students, and any other professional who encounters clients with upper extremity issues, Fundamentals of Hand Therapy, 2nd Edition contains everything you need to make sound therapy decisions. Coverage includes hand anatomy, the evaluation process, and diagnosis-specific information. Expert tips, treatment guidelines, and case studies round out this comprehensive text designed to help you think critically about each client's individual needs.
Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy by
In occupational therapy practice, well designed groups represent social and cultural contexts for occupational performance in everyday life. Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, the best-selling text for over 25 years by Marilyn B. Cole, has been updated to a Fifth Edition, offering strategies and learning tools to place clients in effective groups for enhanced therapeutic interventions. Updated to meet the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition, this Fifth Edition provides guidelines for occupational therapy group design and leadership and guides application of theory-based groups. The theory section clarifies how occupation based models and frames of reference change the way occupational therapy groups are organized and how theory impacts the selection of group activities, goals, and outcomes. Recent examples and evidence are added in this Fifth Edition to reflect the design and use of groups for evaluation and intervention within the newly evolving paradigm of occupational therapy. The third section focuses on the design of group protocols and outlines a series of group experiences for students. These are intended to provide both personal and professional growth, as well as a format for practice in group leadership, self-reflection, cultural competence, and community service learning. A new chapter focusing on the recovery model and trauma-informed care suggests ways for occupational therapists to design group interventions within these broadly defined approaches. Cole's 7-step format for occupational therapy group leadership provides a concrete, user-friendly learning experience for students to design and lead theory based groups. The settings for which students can design group interventions has been updated to include current and emerging practice settings. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. With a client-centered theoretical approach, Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, Fifth Edition continues a 25-year tradition of education for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students and clinicians.
Kinesiology for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by
Kinesiology for the Occupational Therapy Assistant: Essential Components of Function and Movement, Second Edition approaches the study of kinesiology by connecting function to the underlying components that make movement possible. Jeremy Keough, Susan Sain, and Carolyn Roller present a text that makes learning and retaining information easier for students through application. A top-down approach, based on the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition is used to allow the student to see the big picture and then guides them to understand what fundamental kinesiological functions may be causing limitations or decreased engagement in daily activities. Benefits and Features: New chapters on kinesiology and therapeutic exercise, as well as functional mobility in the home and community Upper extremity information is divided into four chapters for enhanced learning; information presented addresses function across the lifespan Occupational profiles describing actual client conditions at the beginning of several chapters Occupation/real-life based activities and questions at the end of each chapter Emphasis on function and identification of how and why movement occurs Multiple tables and figures to enhance learning Call out boxes that highlight and clarify key concepts A seamless integration of theory, fact, and practice Selected standardized tests, pinch and grip strength, and range of motion norms Glossary of terms and expanded Web resources Instructors materials include PowerPoint presentations, student study guides, and a test bank Bonus! You will receive access to Goniometry and Manual Muscle Testing interactive learning tutorials FREE for 120 days with your new text purchase of Kinesiology for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, Second Edition. Watch the videos, read the text, listen to the experts explain the techniques-all at your own pace. Kinesiology for the Occupational Therapy Assistant: Essential Components of Function and Movement, Second Edition provides students with thorough explanations and learning activities that will put kinesiology into context. Students will also gain insight into the practice of occupational therapy through directed questions and problem solving to assist the client in achieving movement goals.
Quick Reference Neuroscience for Rehabilitation Professionals by
A concise and quick reference for the practitioner and student who are learning or reviewing the most relevant neuroscience principles supporting rehabilitation therapy. The updated third edition continues to meet a need in the rehabilitation profession that has gone unfilled - the ability to break down neuroscience information into the essential principles that can be used to understand neurological conditions and the principles underlying rehabilitation evaluation and practice. This fully-updated third edition provides a quick review of specific neuroscience concepts and principles that support rehabilitation interventions. In this era of information overload, this text rapidly and thoroughly provides condensed information in a user-friendly, easy-to-use format for readers to review and convey relevant information to patients. Sharon Gutman has organised the text into three parts: the first addresses neuroanatomy; the second addresses the function of neurological systems underlying physical, psychiatric, cognitive, and visual perceptual disorders; and the final section addresses clinical neuropathology related to ageing, addiction, memory, and the neurological substrates of sex and gender. A specific section describes the common neurodiagnostic tests that therapists do not administer but must have knowledge of when results are discussed at treatment team meetings. Features of the third edition: Presented in a simple and organised bulleted format. Large-scale colour illustrations to easily visualise neuroanatomical structures and systems. Text boxes to apply key neuroscience concepts to the understanding of common neurological disorders and treatment. Updated clinical test questions and glossary. The third edition bridges a gap by quickly providing the rehabilitation professional with the most salient information needed to understand neurologic principles underlying rehabilitation practice.
OT Books on Order!
Introduction to Orthotics by
Develop the critical thinking skills you need to choose and fit effective orthoses for patients with hand injuries and functional deficits. As a combination workbook/textbook, Introduction to Orthotics, 5th Edition uses reader friendly language to cover the theory, design, and fabrication of orthopedic devices. Ideal for use in the classroom or in the clinical setting, it emphasizes upper extremity versus hand orthoses, with additional coverage of lower extremity orthotics and upper extremity prosthetics, and offers case studies promoting clinical reasoning and problem solving as well as an occupation-based approach. This new edition also demonstrates the fine detail of orthotics and equips you with a repertoire of skills and knowledge related to orthoses. Updated content, references, grading forms and self-evaluation, and case studies provide students and practitioners with the most current and up-to-date information they need to prepare to serve their clients' needs. Combined textbook/workbook format makes it easier to develop fundamental skills in the theory, design, and fabrication of orthoses Numerous case studies in each chapter show how concepts relate to real-life clinical practice. How-To videos on the Evolve companion website let students watch the construction of orthotics again and again to increase their proficiency. Integration of patient safety addresses this important aspect of patient care. Spiral binding lets the book lay flat when opened for convenient use while on the job. Self-evaluation forms allow you to analyze personal strengths and weaknesses related to new orthotic intervention techniques. Review questions and self-quizzes reinforce your comprehension of the material. Laboratory exercises test your clinical reasoning and technical skills. NEW! chapter covering Casting techniques provides guidance regarding current advances. NEW! Chapter for Professional Issues Related to Orthotic Provision. NEW! Elbow, Forearm, and Shoulder Immobilization Orthoses expands the content that previously only addressed elbow and forearm orthoses to include shoulder immobilization orthoses. NEW! Photos and illustrations for pre-fabrication, fitting, and fabrication techniques appear throughout the text. NEW! Evidence-based practice charts
Mental Health Concepts and Techniques for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by
This updated 5th Edition of Mary Beth Early's best-seller remains the only resource specifically developed to prepare occupational therapy assistant students to work effectively with clients with mental health issues across all practice settings. Filled with up-to-date, evidence-based practice information and examples of contemporary interventions, Mental Health Concepts and Techniques for the Occupational Therapy Assistant helps students develop a sound foundation in occupational therapy processes and illustrates how to intervene effectively to meet the needs of clients with mental health issues. The 5th Edition reflects the latest professional standards and recent developments in the field and includes new content, new pedagogy, and new online resources to save instructors time and help students succeed.
Psychopathology and Function by
A comprehensive guide to understanding mental health, Psychopathology and Function, Sixth Edition offers helpful insights and strategies for occupational therapists to understand the approaches of other disciplines, such as medicine, physical therapy, social work, psychology, and nursing, and work effectively in the care team. An essential occupational therapy resource for more than 30 years, Dr. Bette Bonder's Psychopathology and Function, Sixth Edition clearly describes occupational therapy's unique perspectives and contributions to improving the lives of those struggling with emotional and psychological challenges. The Sixth Edition offers an overview of important research and discusses current and emerging issues and knowledge of mental health issues. Readers will gain an appreciation of the centrality of occupation and meaning to mental health and quality of life as they understand how occupational therapy can emphasize and assert its value. New updates in the Sixth Edition include: -Increased emphasis on issues of social justice -Incorporation of material about the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on mental health issues -A new chapter on gender dysphoria -A new chapter on sociocultural factors in mental disorders -;A streamlined and updated pharmacology chapter -A discussion about the DSM-5 and the reactions to it 5 years after its release A great resource for occupational therapy students and practitioners, Psychopathology and Function, Sixth Edition recognizes the importance of interventions focused on quality of life. This text offers background knowledge and strategies that can support efforts to address social and situational issues.
 Reserve a Room |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 BLDG 2840 STE 106 3630 Stanley Road JBSA Fort Sam Houston TX, 78234-6160 |
Stimson Library | US Army MEDCoE
BLDG 2840 STE 106 3630 Stanley Road JBSA Fort Sam Houston, TX 78234-6160
Privacy & Security Notice | External Links Disclaimer | Web Accessability
